Motorola Razr 40 Two Weeks In 2024 Review — I’ve Changed My Mind On Flip Phones

Dan Rice - GroundedTech
6 min readMar 10, 2024

Back in May of 2023 I picked up the Oppo Find N2 Flip. This was my first flip phone and one I was excited to try. I had already tried a full sized foldable with the Samsung Galaxy Fold 4 which I enjoyed a lot, so a flip phone was next on the agenda. The Find N2 Flip seemed like a good fit for my wants and needs with it also having a great set of cameras, but it ended up being such a poor experience that I was convinced that flip foldables just weren’t for me. I didn’t even do a review I was that down about the phone.

Fast forward to February 2024 and I was given a Motorola Razr 40 on loan for me to review. Now of course this is not a new device. It released in May 2023 around the same time as the Oppo at a cheaper cost, with lesser hardware in some ways and less capable cameras. So yes I bought the Oppo over the Moto Razr but ended up not liking it. Having tried the Razr however I’m now convinced that I picked up the wrong phone and that I do indeed like flip phones. So here’s why…

A vegan leather back adds much needed texture.

The most fundamental part of the hardware on a phone like this is the hinge. And the hinge on the Razr 40 is excellent. It will literally…

--

--